Apache Kid and the diamonds!

everything about rules

Moderators: lucabil, Suzy Lafayette

Apache Kid and the diamonds!

Postby c3le » 08 Sep 2007, 07:26

So Apache Kid's ability is the following;

He is unaffected by cards from suit of diamonds played by other players.

Does this mean that if Apache Kid has a mustang in play and the opponent a Schofield (which happens to be a 7 of Diamonds) that the opponent can not shoot Apache Kid by regular means?
User avatar
c3le
 
Posts: 118
Joined: 20 Aug 2007, 19:19
Location: Tampere, Finland

Postby c3le » 14 Sep 2007, 16:55

...nobody knows??

:shock:
User avatar
c3le
 
Posts: 118
Joined: 20 Aug 2007, 19:19
Location: Tampere, Finland

Postby Jim » 15 Sep 2007, 04:48

This is actually answered in the Character section under Apache Kid. Cards like guns and hideouts and such that are diamonds are still usable against Apache Kid. The cards rendered useless are the action cards like Indians, most Bang cards, some Panics, and some others.
Jim
 
Posts: 46
Joined: 07 Jun 2007, 06:49

Postby c3le » 17 Sep 2007, 06:49

Cards like guns and hideouts and such that are diamonds are still usable against Apache Kid


But there's another point in this matter. In my DC, the Hideout is a diamonds of whatever. Being UNAFFECTED by the cards of diamond, the Apache Kid should be able to shoot the guy hiding behind his hideout (even without a proper weapon), since the card "is played by an other player".
User avatar
c3le
 
Posts: 118
Joined: 20 Aug 2007, 19:19
Location: Tampere, Finland

Postby Jim » 19 Sep 2007, 04:29

the answer is in the FAQ for Dodge City
http://www.bang.cz/phpbb2/viewtopic.php?t=121

D10. Does the ability of Apache Kid prevent other players to play Missed! cards of Diamond against his BANGs?
R. No. Apache Kid’s ability applies to cards played by other players only, thus during other players’ turns. Therefore, he is unaffected by about half of the BANG! Cards, by all Indians!, by Conestoga and by some Cat Balou and Panic! played against him. Other cards (General Store, Hideout, weapons etc.) always works normally.

One other interesting thing to note: During Duel, diamond Bangs CAN be used by Apache Kid's opponent. The only card that has to follow the rule of the diamond is the Duel card itself.

Check out the Apache Kid postings under Character Cards.
Jim
 
Posts: 46
Joined: 07 Jun 2007, 06:49

Postby c3le » 19 Sep 2007, 05:09

Ah ok, thanks.
User avatar
c3le
 
Posts: 118
Joined: 20 Aug 2007, 19:19
Location: Tampere, Finland

Postby Varlagne » 08 Sep 2009, 19:24

I still think there is a difference there that the FAQ doesn't really cover. When an opposing player uses a Missed! or a Bang! during a Duel; the card is discarded, not played. That is why those are explained to be usable regardless of Apache Kid's ability. However, blue cards and green cards are "played" by the players. It stands to reason that Apache Kid should ignore those cards as well due to his being "unaffected by cards from suit of diamonds played by other players".

Shouldn't that work the same way as Belle Star's "During her turn, cards in play in front of other players have no effect", or Lasso's "cards in play in front of players have no effect for the entire round", but only applying to diamonds during everyone's turn?
Varlagne
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 17 Jul 2009, 15:37

Postby Suzy Lafayette » 09 Sep 2009, 18:17

Varlagne wrote:I still think there is a difference there that the FAQ doesn't really cover. When an opposing player uses a Missed! or a Bang! during a Duel; the card is discarded, not played. That is why those are explained to be usable regardless of Apache Kid's ability. However, blue cards and green cards are "played" by the players. It stands to reason that Apache Kid should ignore those cards as well due to his being "unaffected by cards from suit of diamonds played by other players".

Shouldn't that work the same way as Belle Star's "During her turn, cards in play in front of other players have no effect", or Lasso's "cards in play in front of players have no effect for the entire round", but only applying to diamonds during everyone's turn?


The last sentence of the FAQ covers your doubt when speaking of Hideout and weapons:

Other cards (General Store, Hideout, weapons etc.) always work normally.
User avatar
Suzy Lafayette
Moderator
 
Posts: 201
Joined: 25 Feb 2007, 14:29
Location: Macerata, Italy


Return to Rules

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron