Shooting yourself?

everything about rules

Moderators: lucabil, Suzy Lafayette

Shooting yourself?

Postby Guest » 17 Nov 2007, 08:47

Technically you can see yourself at a distance of 0, so is it legal to shoot yourself? I can think of a few situations where this might be useful:

- You're an outlaw with 1 life left, and the Sheriff is on your left and will surely kill you. By killing yourself you prevent the Sheriff from getting 3 extra cards
- You're taking a Ghost Town turn, and you have a Bang card and a Dodge. If everyone you want to shoot is out of range, then shoot yourself, use the Dodge, and draw another card in the hopes you get Indians or Gatling or something like that
- You're Bill Noface and you want to draw more cards on your next turn

And I'm sure there's more...
Guest
 

Postby lucabil » 21 Nov 2007, 10:11

There's nothing in the rules to prevent you to shoot yourself.
The cases you mentioned are indeed good examples about when to do it ...
I'm wondering if anyone ever thought about this funny thing.

Moreover, it would be very "in flavor" with spaghetti western characters :-)
User avatar
lucabil
Deputy Marshall Sheriff
 
Posts: 152
Joined: 28 Mar 2006, 10:02
Location: Pisa, Italy

Postby SpectreGadget » 10 Dec 2007, 04:55

My group has been wondering the very same thing. Is there an official ruling on this to make sure it can be done?
User avatar
SpectreGadget
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 13 Aug 2006, 20:44
Location: Atlanta, GA

Postby lucabil » 10 Dec 2007, 09:36

[quote:69156ab5af="SpectreGadget"]Is there an official ruling on this to make sure it can be done?[/quote:69156ab5af]

Unfortunetaely, not so explicit. The only way to say that it should be possible, is considering each player to be at distance 0 from himself and apply blindly the distance rule. After all the rules about the player symbols never say "... but different from the player that is playing the card" ...
User avatar
lucabil
Deputy Marshall Sheriff
 
Posts: 152
Joined: 28 Mar 2006, 10:02
Location: Pisa, Italy

Postby Suzy Lafayette » 10 Dec 2007, 10:28

On my group we do not allow that for many reasons, maybe clues maybe interpretation of clues:

1) Fratelli di Sangue / Blood Brothers: "At the beginning of your turn, you may lose one life (not your last one!) to give one life to any player you choose". It looks like an implicit way to say it's not possibile to kill ourselves, in extension we say to shoot ourselves.

2) before Dead Man one could kill oneself to come back with 2 lifes and 2 more cards, it does not look fair.

3) it's not explicitly allowed! :P

We would need Emiliano to know which his idea was, in any case I think everyone should decide the funniest way for oneself :wink:
User avatar
Suzy Lafayette
Moderator
 
Posts: 201
Joined: 25 Feb 2007, 14:29
Location: Macerata, Italy

Postby lucabil » 10 Dec 2007, 11:09

[quote:0c52f2a109="Suzy Lafayette"]We would need Emiliano to know which his idea was, in any case I think everyone should decide the funniest way for oneself :wink:[/quote:0c52f2a109]

I agree on both points :)
User avatar
lucabil
Deputy Marshall Sheriff
 
Posts: 152
Joined: 28 Mar 2006, 10:02
Location: Pisa, Italy

Postby Emiliano » 07 Jan 2008, 13:42

The official rule is that you cannot shoot yourself. This is done because in tournaments strange situations could arise if you allow this sort of suicide.
However, it is quite safe if you allow someone to shoot himself to use his special ability (e.g., Burt Cassidy or Suzy Lafayette), as it would be a highly-risk, last-resort tactic, [b:97f8783938]but[/b:97f8783938] you cannot shoot yourself if you have only 1 life point left.
User avatar
Emiliano
Marshall Sheriff
 
Posts: 36
Joined: 27 Feb 2006, 18:16

Postby SpectreGadget » 07 Jan 2008, 14:33

[quote:7b1a4cd3bd="Emiliano"]The official rule is that you cannot shoot yourself. This is done because in tournaments strange situations could arise if you allow this sort of suicide.
However, it is quite safe if you allow someone to shoot himself to use his special ability (e.g., Burt Cassidy or Suzy Lafayette), as it would be a highly-risk, last-resort tactic, [b:7b1a4cd3bd]but[/b:7b1a4cd3bd] you cannot shoot yourself if you have only 1 life point left.[/quote:7b1a4cd3bd]

Thank you Emiliano for the input! And I am sure you have heard this before, but I want to let you know that we love this game and play it several times a week during our lunch break at work. It is a fun way to get away from the job. :)
User avatar
SpectreGadget
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 13 Aug 2006, 20:44
Location: Atlanta, GA


Return to Rules

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests