Jail and Vendetta

all about this expansion

Moderators: lucabil, Suzy Lafayette

Jail and Vendetta

Postby cober » 16 Mar 2007, 17:58

If Vendetta is in effect during the turn someone is in Jail, and they fail for the Jail check, do they still get to check for a heart to get another turn?
User avatar
cober
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 10 Sep 2006, 07:53

Re: Jail and Vendetta

Postby srab » 16 Mar 2007, 19:02

[quote:028388429f="cober"]If Vendetta is in effect during the turn someone is in Jail, and they fail for the Jail check, do they still get to check for a heart to get another turn?[/quote:028388429f]

That is good question.
I had discuss this with my playmate and our answer is that is it possible to check Vendetta to jailed person, cause Jail means that you skip phase 1 and 2 of your turn and go straight to phase 3. Vendetta rule is: At the end of your turn, you "draw!": on a Heart, you play another turn ( but you do not "draw!" again).
So if you check to Jail before phase 1, you also discard Jail card to pile, no matter if you are or not in Jail. Then you play or not phase 1,2 but surely you will play phase 3, then is turn over and is time to check Vendetta for everyone.
This only is my opinion, cause no mention in rules or FAQ. Also i hope it is clear for you.
User avatar
srab
Site Sherif
 
Posts: 610
Joined: 30 May 2005, 09:11
Location: Štětí

Postby Suzy Lafayette » 19 Mar 2007, 11:52

I perfectly agree with you: Jail makes you jump phases 1 and 2, not more. Then you end your turn with phase 3 and only at the end of the (whole) turn you check for Vendetta. So I guess it's not affected by Jail.
User avatar
Suzy Lafayette
Moderator
 
Posts: 201
Joined: 25 Feb 2007, 14:29
Location: Macerata, Italy

Postby lucabil » 19 Mar 2007, 14:00

In my play group we play the same
User avatar
lucabil
Deputy Marshall Sheriff
 
Posts: 152
Joined: 28 Mar 2006, 10:02
Location: Pisa, Italy

Postby Rai » 24 Mar 2007, 01:44

Yeah, same here.

It's not something you encounter that often, to be honest.
User avatar
Rai
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 10 Jan 2007, 16:18
Location: England

Postby Varlagne » 10 Aug 2009, 20:30

Okay... but the new rules state that your entire turn is skipped if you fail to draw a Heart for Jail. We still have been playing where they are still allowed to draw for the bonus turn; however, someone always questions whether they really should be able to.
Varlagne
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 17 Jul 2009, 15:37

Postby c3le » 09 Sep 2010, 20:48

Varlagne wrote:Okay... but the new rules state that your entire turn is skipped if you fail to draw a Heart for Jail.


Exactly:

If you fail the jail, your turn never happens so you won't even check for Vendetta.
User avatar
c3le
 
Posts: 118
Joined: 20 Aug 2007, 19:19
Location: Tampere, Finland

Postby Suzy Lafayette » 10 Sep 2010, 08:34

The check for Vendetta has to be done [i:2d74031b6f]at the end of the turn[/i:2d74031b6f]. So after the phase 3: the turn is [u:2d74031b6f]already[/u:2d74031b6f] ended, both if played as normal and if skipped because of jail.

Besides, drawing hearts with Vendetta you play [i:2d74031b6f]another[/i:2d74031b6f] turn, not another phase of the same turn.

For these reasons we allow the check.
User avatar
Suzy Lafayette
Moderator
 
Posts: 201
Joined: 25 Feb 2007, 14:29
Location: Macerata, Italy

Postby c3le » 11 Sep 2010, 09:19

[quote:c81f9dcf50="Suzy Lafayette"]The check for Vendetta has to be done [i:c81f9dcf50]at the end of the turn[/i:c81f9dcf50]. So after the phase 3: the turn is [u:c81f9dcf50]already[/u:c81f9dcf50] ended, [/quote:c81f9dcf50]

How can something end when it [i:c81f9dcf50]never started[/i:c81f9dcf50]?

I just read the Rules & FAQ - section about jail (which adds more confusion):

***EDIT***

Nevermind I stand corrected;

[quote:c81f9dcf50]Q15. Can a Jailed player play a Beer in his turn?
A. Only if he is losing his last life point (for example, if he is hit by a Dynamite).[i:c81f9dcf50] Anyone who is in the Jail must skip phases 1 and 2 of his turn and thus he cannot normally play cards in his turn.[/i:c81f9dcf50] [/quote:c81f9dcf50]

and phase 3 happens.
User avatar
c3le
 
Posts: 118
Joined: 20 Aug 2007, 19:19
Location: Tampere, Finland

Postby Suzy Lafayette » 11 Sep 2010, 12:41

This is old rule until 2nd edition. Since 3rd edition phase 3 is skipped too.
User avatar
Suzy Lafayette
Moderator
 
Posts: 201
Joined: 25 Feb 2007, 14:29
Location: Macerata, Italy

Postby ScoutMan » 18 Sep 2010, 19:29

We play it that you don't check for Vendetta. Since The Jail makes you SKIP your turn, there is no end of turn. Phases 1, 2, 3 and the end of your turn are all part of your turn and thus are skipped all together.

This is true for many other games as well, where the end of turn is actually a phase of your turn where things happen. And in this thinking one could say that Phase 3 and the end of turn is ont and the same in Bang!
ScoutMan
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 21 Jul 2010, 20:03

Postby c3le » 19 Sep 2010, 09:07

Suzy Lafayette wrote:This is old rule until 2nd edition. Since 3rd edition phase 3 is skipped too.
'

So no checking...? Yea makes more sense.
User avatar
c3le
 
Posts: 118
Joined: 20 Aug 2007, 19:19
Location: Tampere, Finland

Postby Suzy Lafayette » 20 Sep 2010, 07:40

The matter is how you consider [i:73f512999f]at the end of your turn[/i:73f512999f], i guess you consider it as [i:73f512999f]a part[/i:73f512999f] of the turn, the very last part of it.

Imho is not a part of player turn: it takes place [i:73f512999f]after[/i:73f512999f] the turn of player A and [i:73f512999f]before[/i:73f512999f] the turn of player B.

However nothing official :roll:
User avatar
Suzy Lafayette
Moderator
 
Posts: 201
Joined: 25 Feb 2007, 14:29
Location: Macerata, Italy

Postby Suzy Lafayette » 30 Sep 2010, 07:40

This [i:211c45649b]is[/i:211c45649b] official by Emiliano Sciarra :wink:

[quote:211c45649b="Emiliano"]"At the end of your turn" happens after your Phase 3 (much like "at the beginning of your turn" happens before Phase 1), so you have to check the Vendetta.[/quote:211c45649b]
User avatar
Suzy Lafayette
Moderator
 
Posts: 201
Joined: 25 Feb 2007, 14:29
Location: Macerata, Italy


Return to A Fistful of Cards

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron