cat balou on yourself

from BANG! to last Beer

Moderátoři: lucabil, Suzy Lafayette

cat balou on yourself

Příspěvekod c3le » 18 úno 2008, 21:10

Can you cat balou a hand card from yourself, from the [i:7a9f50d6b8]hand[/i:7a9f50d6b8] ? Or panic a card from yourself, from the [i:7a9f50d6b8]hand[/i:7a9f50d6b8]?
Uživatelský avatar
c3le
 
Příspěvky: 118
Registrován: 20 srp 2007, 19:19
Bydliště: Tampere, Finland

Příspěvekod lucabil » 19 úno 2008, 09:11

You can't play Panic! or Cat Balou (or the like) on yourself.

... but you know what?! ... As far as I know this rule appears nowhere.
Uživatelský avatar
lucabil
Deputy Marshall Sheriff
 
Příspěvky: 152
Registrován: 28 bře 2006, 10:02
Bydliště: Pisa, Italy

Příspěvekod c3le » 21 úno 2008, 18:28

Well, yea, we've played it that you can't Panic! yourself (illogical) but you could Cat Balou yourself but only take a card from the table, that is you couldn't Cat Balou yourself and take a card from your own hand...

...so there's no official coverage on this?
Uživatelský avatar
c3le
 
Příspěvky: 118
Registrován: 20 srp 2007, 19:19
Bydliště: Tampere, Finland

Příspěvekod Jim » 22 úno 2008, 07:01

We have played that you can Cat Balou a Jail card or a Dynamite that is in front of you during Lasso. If the round is not Lasso, then you don't have a chance to do so. Besides that, when and why would you do that?
Jim
 
Příspěvky: 46
Registrován: 07 čer 2007, 06:49

Příspěvekod c3le » 22 úno 2008, 16:06

First of all, we don't use any other expansions except for the DC. Secondly, JÅ‘se Dilghado (or what's-his-name) could panic his own gun/horse/whatever and draw two cards.

Or Suzy has a cat balou and missed card in her hand. She uses cat balou to remove his missed card --> draw a card (she has no cards) --> insane combo until you get a missed card.

See my point here?
Uživatelský avatar
c3le
 
Příspěvky: 118
Registrován: 20 srp 2007, 19:19
Bydliště: Tampere, Finland

Příspěvekod Emiliano » 29 dub 2008, 21:38

The truth is, [b:43845d4580]you can legally play Cat Balou and Panic on yourself![/b:43845d4580]
However, you cannot play Bang! on yourself...
Uživatelský avatar
Emiliano
Marshall Sheriff
 
Příspěvky: 36
Registrován: 27 úno 2006, 18:16

Příspěvekod lucabil » 30 dub 2008, 09:57

I gave my answer because of something I read somewhere else.

This thing is interesting because it opens up funny strategies and it fits well in the rules.

It's a pity that it does not match the behaviour of Bangs (you can't shoot yourself), and maybe it does not make much sense from a flavor point of view (auto Panic? :-)).

Anyway. You are th WORD! ;-)
Uživatelský avatar
lucabil
Deputy Marshall Sheriff
 
Příspěvky: 152
Registrován: 28 bře 2006, 10:02
Bydliště: Pisa, Italy

Příspěvekod Emiliano » 30 dub 2008, 10:08

As I said, the "no-killing-yourself" rule is the official one to prevent unfairy behaviours in tournaments.
However, if you sure to play with fair people, you can allow self-shot, which adds strategic elements to the game as well (think of Bart Cassidy, for example).
Uživatelský avatar
Emiliano
Marshall Sheriff
 
Příspěvky: 36
Registrován: 27 úno 2006, 18:16

Příspěvekod c3le » 02 kvě 2008, 20:42

Does this mean if I have a mustang + hideout in play I can't panic myself? Since I am at distance 2 now? (being distance 0 with no modifiers)

Or that Paul Regret can't panic himself if he has one card with +1 in play?
Uživatelský avatar
c3le
 
Příspěvky: 118
Registrován: 20 srp 2007, 19:19
Bydliště: Tampere, Finland

Příspěvekod Emiliano » 02 kvě 2008, 22:35

No, You are always at distance 1 from you.
Uživatelský avatar
Emiliano
Marshall Sheriff
 
Příspěvky: 36
Registrován: 27 úno 2006, 18:16

Příspěvekod lucabil » 05 kvě 2008, 09:22

[quote:36e07c093a="Emiliano"]No, You are always at distance 1 from you.[/quote:36e07c093a]

Or maybe distance 0 ...
Uživatelský avatar
lucabil
Deputy Marshall Sheriff
 
Příspěvky: 152
Registrován: 28 bře 2006, 10:02
Bydliště: Pisa, Italy

Příspěvekod Guest » 24 črc 2008, 04:50

Hmmmm...........i always thought that it wasn't legal to cat balou oneself as it could open up possibly unfair tactics that certain characters can use to their advantage. But it is an interesting notion.....maybe we should compile a list of the wackiest things you can do with this rule.
Guest
 

Příspěvekod c3le » 30 črc 2008, 10:46

...so when I would cat balou myself...can I choose which card to remove or how does this work? Same goes for panic.

Then again, in my group we house-ruled that you can cat balou/panic on yourself only if you use it to remove/take a card from play, not from your hand.
Uživatelský avatar
c3le
 
Příspěvky: 118
Registrován: 20 srp 2007, 19:19
Bydliště: Tampere, Finland

Příspěvekod Emiliano » 17 zář 2008, 11:06

When you play Panic! or Cat Balou on yourself:
- if you choose a card in hand, you have to randomly choose one of yours (shuffle them and pick one face down);
- otherwise, choose freely any card in play in front of yourself.
Uživatelský avatar
Emiliano
Marshall Sheriff
 
Příspěvky: 36
Registrován: 27 úno 2006, 18:16

Příspěvekod Suzy Lafayette » 20 říj 2008, 11:49

[quote:ff94f2033a="Emiliano"]No, You are always at distance 1 from you.[/quote:ff94f2033a]

What about the 2-players variant game... can I use Panic!/Cat Balou with my active character to take a card from my passive one? Distance 1?
And if my passive character is Paul Regret, distance 2?
Uživatelský avatar
Suzy Lafayette
Moderator
 
Příspěvky: 194
Registrován: 25 úno 2007, 14:29
Bydliště: Macerata, Italy

Další

Zpět na Playing cards

Kdo je online

Uživatelé procházející toto fórum: Žádní registrovaní uživatelé a 2 návštevníků

cron